FOLSOM, CALIFORNIA – The Folsom Fire Department had three of its members sworn in by the Sacramento FD’s Chief Gary Loesch on Friday, November 5, 2021, as their three newest members of the USAR Task Force 7 team (CA-TF7)

Congratulations on a job well done!

Urban Search and Rescue California Task Force 7 (CA-TF7) is a FEMA Urban Search and Rescue Task Force based in Sacramento, California that is sponsored by the Sacramento Fire Department. When there is a full deployment, there are about 80 members. Most of these positions are filled by Metro personnel, according to the Agency’s website.

Specialized personnel within CA TF-7 include collapse rescue, heavy rigging, Logistics, HAZMAT, Medical, Communications, K9 SAR Team, Technical Search, Planning and Safety.

Resources that consist of this California disaster resource include personnel from the following agencies and organizations:

  • Fire Departments | Sacramento, Folsom, Roseville, West Sacramento.
  • Fire Protection Districts | El Dorado County, Sacramento Metro FD.
  • Airports | Sacramento County Airports System.
  • Community Services | Cosumnes Community Services District.
  • Civilians | Emergency Department Physicians, structural engineer.

USAR Task Force 7 was one of the original USAR teams established in the early 1990s and said to be originally formed to respond to structural collapses caused by earthquakes. As more than three decades have passed, the team has evolved into a highly-skilled, experienced, and specialized to respond to disasters, catastrophes, provide incident support, and respond to preplanned events.

The CA-TF7 has been deployed to the following incidents:

  • Bombings | 1995: Oklahoma City. 2001: 9/11 Terrorist Attacks.
  • Hurricanes | Iniki (1992). Charlie, Ivan, Francis (2004). Katrina, Rita (2005). Dean (2007).Gustav, Ike (2008). Earl (2010). Sandy (2012). Matthew (2016). Harvey, Maria. (2017). Florence (2018). Dorian (2019).
  • Mudslides | Oso, Washington (2014).
  • Rock Slides | Yosemite (1996).
  • Landslide | Montecito – MRP (Canine).
  • Earthquakes | Northridge (1994). Haiti Port-au-Prince (2010).
  • Tornadoes | Kansas (2007).
  • Special Events | National Special Security Event – Olympics in Atlanta (2000), Salt Lake City (2002). Space Shuttle Recovery (2003). Democratic and Republic National Conventions (2004, 2008).
  • Floods | North Dakota. (2009).

To find out more about this Task Force (7), you can visit their Facebook page at or email them at


Want to learn more about other US Task Forces? Check out the National US&R Response System on Facebook at

CA-Task Force 1 (CA-TF1) | This unit is based in the City of Los Angeles and sponsored by its City’s Fired Department. They were established in 1993. They are one of six Task Forces that are highly trained and skilled at Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) with certification to respond to chemical, biological or radiological agents related incidents.

CA Task Force 2 (CA-TF2) | This unit is headquartered in Los Angeles County and is sponsored by the LACoFD. This Task Force is one of two that works with the U.S. Agency for International Development’s Office of Foreign Disaster Assistance to provide an international response to natural and man-made disasters.

CA Task Force 3 (CA-TF3) | This Task Force is located in Menlo Park, California, and is sponsored by the Menlo Park Fire District that was formed in September of 1991. They are a specialized team with a highly skilled and fully equipped 80-member unit that includes 18 participating agencies and 60 civilians. They have the capability to send 220 members at the ready to any type of incident, which include those from the Menlo Park FD who are firefighters, medics, ED doctors, structural engineers, heavy equipment specialists, K9 SAR dog teams, HAZMAT, Communications experts and Logistics specialists. Their technical rescue team responds with 70,000 pounds of prepackage SAR tools and medical equipment to conduct a 24/7 operation at a domestic and international incident, both man-made or naturally created.

CA Task Force 4 (CA-TF4) | This unit is based in Oakland and is sponsored by the Oakland City FD, which consists of personnel from the Oakland FD, Alameda City FD, Alameda County FD, AMR, Berkeley FD, Camp Parks, Dublin FD, Fremont FD, Contra Costa Fire Protection District, Livermore-Pleasanton FD, Marin County FD, Novato FD, Oakland FD, San Ramon Valley Fire Protection District, Santa Rosa FD, and the Stockton FD.

CA Task Force 5 (CA-TF5) | This unit is based in Orange County and sponsored by the Orange County Fire Authority, is another that is WMD certified. This group consists of Orange County Fire Authority personnel along with specialists from the Anaheim FD, Long Beach FD, Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department, Montebello FD and Orange City FD.

CA Task Force 6 (CA-TF6) | The CA-TF6 is based in Riverside, California and is sponsored by the Riverside City FD that consists of City of Corona FD, City of Hemet Fd, City of Murrieta FD, Pechanga FD, CAL FIRE – Riverside County FD.

CA Task Force 8 (CA-TF8) | The last, but not least Task Force is based in San Diego, California and sponsored by the San Diego FD has a large vast array of specialized emergency and non-emergency services and businesses in the greater San Diego region. This includes, but is not limited to Balboa Naval Hospital San Diego, California Department of Forestry (CA DOF), Carlsbad FD, Chula Vista FD, Coronado FD, El Cajon FD, Encinitas FD, Escondido FD, Montebello PD, Oceanside FD, Poway FD, Rancho Santa Fe FD, Santee Fd, San Diego City FD, San Marcos FD, San Miguel Fire Protection District, San Onofre FD, City of Visa Public Works and Vista FD.

(c) 2021 NW Fire Blog | Published 11/6/2021 2030 PT